Criminal, DUI & Traffic Cases

First Time DUI Penalties

What Are The Penalties For DUI in Florida?

In the State of Florida, the crime of Driving Under the Influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) may be a misdemeanor or a felony, and the range of penalties varies depending on the prior record of the Defendant and the circumstances of the offense.  Penalties are enhanced if the Defendant had prior DUI’s, or if the Defendant’s blood or breath alcohol level (BAL)  is above .15, or if an underage passenger was in the car, or if there was a crash causing injury or death or property damage to another.  The range of penalties is described below.

First Time DUI Penalties:
BAL under .15 and no child in vehicle
Offense Level: Misdemeanor
JAIL: 0 to 6 months
Fines: $500 to $1,000
Driver License: Revoked 180 days to 1 year
Ignition Interlock: Not required
Probation:* 6 to 12 months
 
BAL over .15 or child in vehicle
Offense Level: Misdemeanor
JAIL: 0 to 9 months
Fines: $1,000 to $2,000
Driver License: Revoked 180 days to 1 year
Ignition Interlock: 6 months
Probation:* 6 to 12 months

*Probation requirements include at least 50 hours Community Service; completion of a DUI/Substance Abuse Program including a psychosocial evaluation and any recommended treatment; payment of all fines, court costs, and costs of probation; and impound or immobilization of one vehicleof the Defendant for at least 10 days.

Read More - Second Time DUI Penalties
The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Before you decide, ask us to send you full written information about our qualifications and experience.

Website Design & Development By
Tinker Graphics